Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Longbourn by Jo Baker

Longbourn

Hello readers! It’s been a while. Once again, I found myself caught in reading a book for an extended period of time. Whenever this happens, an unfortunate series of events occurs. After finally finishing said book that takes forever to get through, the next book always seems to fly by with ease. After which I read another book, and another book, and another book because I then remember what it feels like to race through a book. And it. feels. great. So needless to say, I’m behind on my blogging. Again.

So here we are again. It took a little under two months for me to finish Jo Baker’s Longbourn. This isn’t entirely the fault of the book. I didn’t dislike it. I didn’t LOVE it either. But I didn’t dislike it. I just didn’t find it the most overwhelmingly engrossing of reads. On top of that, it was up against the holidays. When it came to Longbourn vs. baking Christmas cookies, it didn’t really stand a chance. Right when I’d really get in the groove of reading, I wouldn’t have the opportunity to pick it up again for a few days and that groove was gone. Baxter lost her groove.

But before I get thinking about the holidays and craving Christmas cookies, let’s get back to my specific thoughts on Longbourn. So above, I said that I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t love it. It’s safe to say that I liked it. The novel tells the story of Jane Austen’s beloved Pride and Prejudice from the point of view of the servants taking care of the Bennet family. It is an interesting way of attacking the genre of Jane Austen fanfiction that has become popular. If anything, I think most lovers of this particular genre will find Longbourn refreshing. It’s not a schmaltzy love story where a single woman is obsessed with Pride and Prejudice and ends up finding her Mr. Darcy. This “down and dirty” look at the time period was intriguing.

There is no doubt that Baker is a good author. I don’t want to go into a lot of detail, but I will say that I had a lot of questions that I was starting to think weren’t going to be answered. I thought to myself while reading “maybe I missed something, or maybe these questions are silly, or maybe I’m just thinking too much into things.” Then, Baker comes at you with a whole other side story that loops in to tie everything up in this great way where I almost didn’t know what hit me. It was there that I found my groove again.

So yes, it took me a while to read Longbourn. But it’s not Jo Baker’s fault. Because when you really think about it, who can stand a chance when it’s competing to hold my attention against the holiday season.

Image via

