Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sad Desk Salad by Jessica Grose

Sad Desk Salad

A “sad desk salad” refers to those meals eaten by women at their desk jobs while checking out their favorite gossip blogs on their lunch break. Jessica Grose’s Sad Desk Salad‘s main character, Alex Lyons, is a writer for your stereotypical gossip blog called Chick Habit. Alex is twenty-five years old and lives in New York City with her “good guy” boyfriend, Peter. She wakes up every morning and is a slave to her laptop, Chick Habit  and the number of views she receives on her posts. Having recently been given a monthly goal of page views that must be met, Alex is really feeling the pressure to find juicy pieces, so much so that she has started to neglect personal hygiene. She hasn’t showered for a few days and has been wearing the same muumuu for a while now. When she receives an anonymous tip with a video of a well-know politician’s daughter snorting cocaine, Alex debates whether or not she’ll be crossing the line by ruining the young girl’s life in posting the video.

The entire plot of Sad Desk Salad takes place over the course of a mere four days. To be honest, I don’t know if I could take much more than the four days that were described. I don’t mean that in a bad way necessarily. What I mean is, Alex’s job does not sound like a good place to be and I got the picture pretty accurately in those four days. For the most part, I did enjoy this book. It took me all of twenty-four hours to read. It’s definitely light and easy to read.

Is Sad Desk Salad a great piece of literature? Eh, no. But it’s not bad either! The characters are pretty much the same stock ones you encounter in a lot of “chick-lit” novels. As the reader, you’re meant to identify with Alex. To be honest, I found her a little annoying for my taste, but not to the point where I didn’t want to know the ending of the book. And again, it shouldn’t take you too long to reach that ending as it’s a pretty fast read.

For me, the best part of the book is the general theme that the internet can be dangerous. Sure, if you’re reading this you’ve somehow come across my blog on the internet (and I like to think I haven’t posted anything too threatening), but you have to remember everything else that’s out there. It is completely possible for people to lose themselves online. Morals can go out the window if you let them. This book tries to tackle these issues, and does a pretty decent job at it.

If you’re looking for an easy “chick-lit” read with brains that won’t take you too long to finish, Sad Desk Salad is right up your alley. Go ahead and check it out.

Image via

