Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

I put off reading John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars for a very long time. “Why’s that?” you ask. Well, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a cryer. I’m pretty sure I might’ve said that a book moved me to tears, however I don’t think I’ve fully admitted the extent of how much I cry sometimes. A lot of the time, if there is some true human emotion presented that evokes a similar emotion in me, I cry. Whether it be happy or sad, there will be tears. So in getting back to Green’s book, the number one thing I heard about it was how much it makes everyone cry. Now imagine hearing that and being the person that ALWAYS cries. You know you’re going to be in for a soggy tissue-filled ride.

Knowing about the crying factor of this book, as I said earlier, I put it off. I wasn’t in the mood to cry. It’s actually a wonder I read it when I did because Rooftops of Tehran was a pretty emotional journey. I’m pretty sure at the time when I was deciding whether or not to take the plunge I eventually said to myself “stop being such a baby and read the damn book.”

So, read it I did. And boy did I cry a lot.

I probably looked a lot like Dawson Leery here:
dawson-s-crying-face-

The Fault in Our Stars is the story of 16 year-old Hazel Grace Lancaster. At the age of 13, Hazel was diagnosed with cancer and has only survived thanks to doses of an experimental drug. After being forced by her mother to attend a support group for children living with cancer, she meets Augustus (Gus) Waters through a mutual friend at the group. Hazel and Gus start to spend time together following the support group where they first met and become closer and closer to the point where they’re falling in love. While I won’t give away the ending, you do know that I cried a lot and it’s a book about young adults with cancer. Do the math. I actually just started to cry again looking through the book at the parts I highlighted, geez.

It always feels a little strange to say how much I enjoy a book when it makes me so obviously sad, but I think that actually says a lot about how well the book was written. I thought it was such a good book that I didn’t mind that it made me use way too many tissues. While I personally cannot relate exactly to the main characters of the book, it was easy to connect with the raw emotion that Green is able to describe pretty flawlessly. And I’m not even talking about specifically the emotion between Hazel and Gus. The relationships that Hazel has with her parents, her friends and even the cranky writer of her favorite book are well developed too.

I guess I should also mention that at times, this book made me laugh. You probably think I’m a liar considering 80% of this post is devoted to tears but it’s true! Hazel is a pretty feisty main character who isn’t afraid to speak her mind which results in some laughs along the way. It is with this combination of humor, love and sadness that John Green has created his touching book, The Fault in Our Stars. 

Images via, via

