Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Is Everyone Hanging Out

Dear Mindy,

Can I call you Mindy? Ms. Kaling sounded too formal and I feel as though you won’t mind if we go by a first name basis. Ok, great. Hi! I hope this letter finds you well and that you don’t find it too creepy. I bet you get tons of creepy letters, but I swear that this comes from a place of huge admiration (and if we’re talking physically, it comes from Astoria). But I digress.

I read your book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me and Other Concerns while I was on vacation with one of my best friends. By the end of the book, I kinda wished you were on vacation with us. Why’s that? Well, Mindy, I’m pretty sure after reading your book that we would get along splendidly. I’m sure you get this a lot (and if you don’t, then a lot of people are lying to themselves in thinking they can’t identify with a lot of what you wrote), but I’m hoping you don’t get tired of hearing it.

I have a small confession to make, I did not watch The Office religiously.  I have some friends that did and they loved it. It’s not that I didn’t like the show, I just never made the conscious effort to watch it while it was on the air. Occasionally, I’ll catch an episode on syndication and whenever Kelly Kapoor comes on the screen, she makes me laugh. By the time I heard you were going to have your own show on Fox, I was really happy for you. But if I’m being honest, I didn’t originally plan on watching The Mindy Project. Like many typical 20 something white girls, I was a huge fan of New Girl and quite accidentally started watching your show. When I say “by accident,” I really mean it. I had scheduled New Girl to record for an extra 5 minutes to ensure I didn’t miss a second of Zooey Deschanel’s adorkable-ness, and I ended up with the first 5 minutes of an episode of The Mindy Project. These five minutes made me laugh so hard that I snorted.  I then proceeded to find that episode on demand and continued to laugh my ass off. I’ve been watching regularly ever since.

Mindy Project Hot Mess

Suffering from Mindy Lahiri withdrawal, I was happy to pick up Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me over the summer. I’m not exaggerating when I tell you I was laughing hysterically as early on in the book as the chapter titles. I laughed so much that I became that annoying person, reading the chapter names out loud to my friend who clearly just wanted to listen to her music and focus on her tan. But no, she had to know how funny you are because I felt like I had to share this with anyone who would listen.

Since I have this little book blog, I try and highlight things while I read that I find funny, meaningful, or that I identify with. I had to stop highlighting while reading your book mostly because I realized I was highlighting almost everything. I originally wanted to share a few quotes here that I found the funniest. I have since come to the conclusion that this would be a disservice to your hilarious book. Instead, I’m going to take this opportunity to tell anyone who happens to be reading this GO READ IS EVERYONE HANGING OUT WITHOUT ME BY MINDY KALING RIGHT NOW.

Sincerely, your big fan,
Baxter

Image via, and this great Buzzfeed list

