Tags

, , , , , ,

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane

Shutter Island

When it comes to writing a blog post about Dennis Lehane’s Shutter Island, I don’t really want to say much. In fact, I want to say so little that it I’m finding it difficult to write anything of substance. I think I would be doing a disservice to those people who have not read the book or seen the 2010 Martin Scorsese film adaptation by really saying anything more about the plot than what you would read on the back of the book.

I hope you don’t take this as too much of a cop-out when it comes to this post, but all I will say is I found Lehane’s writing style tight while being able to blur the lines of reality vs. fantasy. And that, ladies and gentlemen, can not be easy to do. I actually had watched the movie a few years before reading the book and by the time I did, I couldn’t remember too many specifics about the plot. That being said, I knew the main twists and turns and still found myself surprised by the book. Personally, I couldn’t predict a thing. In addition, for as much as I remember my brain hurting after watching the movie version, it hurt just as much after reading the book. But you know, that good kind of hurting where you’re not quite sure what happened but you know it was awesome.

While not my typical genre of choice, I thoroughly enjoyed Shutter Island. If you’re looking for a good thriller/mystery, I think you’ll like it too.

Image via

