Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Revenge Wears Prada by Laura Weisberger

Revenge Wears Prada

I remember reading The Devil Wears Prada by Laura Weisberger and really enjoying it.  I also really enjoyed the film version as well.  Meryl Streep is perfection in pretty much everything she does and this was no exception for her in the role as steely Miranda Priestly. And while I’ve recently seen bits and pieces of the movie (it’s on TV all the time) it has been quite some years since reading the book.  And all I have to say is, was Andy Sachs as annoying and whiney and pathetic in the first book as she was in its sequel, Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns?

If we’re being honest, Weisberger, while not a bad writer, didn’t come up with or use any completely crazy writing techniques in her first book. It was the characters, plot, and world that she wrote about that really drew the attention. That plot and those characters all seemed believable in Devil Wears Prada. The same can not be said about Revenge Wears Prada AT ALL. Honestly, there isn’t really that much to talk about. While I don’t think reading this book is worth your time, I don’t want to give away too much of the plot. I will say that pretty much everything that happens seems completely ridiculous. On top of that I spent most of the book waiting for some sort of climatic showdown when instead, everything just fizzles out. Plus, for as ridiculous as the plot was, I thought maybe something unpredictable would happen. But no. The ending, once I realized where we were headed, was silly and obvious.

As I mentioned earlier, Andy Sachs in Revenge Wears Prada is almost insufferable. While I don’t use Goodreads myself, occasionally I check it out just to see what other people have thought about a book I’ve recently read.  One person pointed out that they wanted to punch Andy in the face. While I don’t advocate violence, I kind of agreed. In Revenge, it has been ten years since Andy has worked at Runway, and she is now the co-owner of a very successful, high-end bridal magazine. And yet, she is still completely terrified of Miranda. I’m sorry, she sounds awful, but honestly? GET OVER IT. You’re a grown woman! MOVE ON WITH YOUR LIFE.

Alright, perhaps I’m getting a little too angry at a fictional character.

To sum things up, I’m sorry to say that Revenge Wears Prada was a huge let-down for me. I would have been happier imagining a life for the Andy Sachs after Devil Wears Prada than reading this book only to find she’s a rather obnoxious human being.

And on a side note, if they do make this into a movie, please give Miranda Priestly more screen time than what she’s given in the book.  The only thing that would save the movie would be more Meryl. Because there’s never such a thing as too much Meryl Streep.

Meryl Streep That's All

Images via, via

