Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Inferno by Dan Brown

Inferno

Following The American Heiress, I wanted something I could count on.  Something where I knew what I was getting myself into.  I decided to turn to Dan Brown.  Some of you book snobs are probably shaking your head at me right now.  Guess what? I’m not going to apologize.  I’ve read all of Dan Brown’s books revolving around Robert Langdon and I’m not ashamed.  Do I think they’re the be all end all of great literature? Absolutely not.  Do I find them all entertaining? You bet I do.  And that is why I decided to pick up Dan Brown’s Inferno after being so thoroughly disappointed in my last book.  I thought I could trust Dan Brown to give me an enjoyable romp involving symbols and foreign countries (Inferno went back to Europe after Brown’s last Langdon adventure in America’s capital city) that would ultimately culminate in a nice little package of an ending where all the loose ends have been tied up.  In a Dan Brown book you should expect the unexpected.  Characters aren’t usually who they seem to be, you never know quite who to trust.  Without divulging any spoilers, I will say that this aspect held true especially for Inferno.

So here’s the thing about Brown’s most recent book.  I didn’t dislike it.  I did get my romp around Europe with symbols galore.  I did get the loose ends tied up.  Were they in a nice package? Well, that I don’t know.  I’m not sure the word “nice” can be used here.  I still don’t know how I feel about the ending of this book.  And I don’t want to spoil it for anyone else planning on reading it.  Both my co-worker and I were reading the book at the same time and I finished a few days before her.  I didn’t want to say even the slightest thing about the ending other than “I don’t know what to think” and asked her to just let me know as soon as she had finished.  When she did, the conversation went a little like this: “yeah… hmmm… so is that good? Is that bad? I don’t know what to think.  And also, is this a real life dilemma?”  We were both a little, unsettled?  I don’t even know if that’s the right word for it!  I wasn’t confused by what took place, but I was confused by what the author intended the reader to feel by what took place.

So that’s my story with Dan Brown’s Inferno.  If you have read Brown’s latest, please let me know what you think!  To those who may be wondering if I’ve been reading solely Inferno in my month long absence, the answer is no.  I haven’t been able to tear myself away from some truly wonderful books long enough to write about them!  I have a few books in my blogging pipeline and before I get any further behind, I can’t wait to share them with you.

