Tags

, , , , , ,

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

I would like to start this blog post with the fact that it took me one week to read Gone Girl.  While only being about 50 pages shorter than Donna Tartt’s The Little Friend, it took me 1/12 the time to read.  I’m not saying this to brag about how little time it took me to finish Flynn’s novel.  I’m pointing this out to prove how I obviously could not get enough of this book.

Now maybe it is a little unfair to compare reading time between the two most recent books I’ve read.  Truthfully, I think I’m still a little bitter towards The Little Friend. I still think, though, that there’s something to be said for how much faster you can get through a book if you’re looking forward to picking it back up every time you have to set it down.  I was pretty sad every time I had to stop reading Gone Girl that it got to the point where I got home from work and didn’t do anything but read until I finished the last hundred or so pages.

Flynn weaves a truly suspenseful story revolving around the lives of husband and wife Nick and Amy Dunne.  On the morning of their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy goes missing from their southern McMansion on the Mississippi where there are signs of a struggle.  Told in alternating first person narratives from each spouse, the reader slowly tries to figure out who to trust in the situation, husband, wife or both? While I won’t give away any spoilers, I will say my favorite part of this book was how just when I thought I’d figured out a twist, Flynn would come right back at me with something out of left-field.  This novel is a truly exemplifies what it means to have an unreliable narrator.  “Who’s unreliable?” you may ask.  I’m not telling.  Go read it for yourself!

