Tags

, , , , , ,

If you answered “Baxter” then you are correct!  After almost three (eek) months of no blogging, I’m ready to dive back into the blogging world.  If you have trust issues, right about now you’re probably saying “sure sure, but what if you leave again?”  Well, I can honestly say that I’m going to try really hard not to disappear quite like I did before.  And, if it makes you feel any better, it wasn’t as though I read tons and tons of books that I now have to review.

That’s right.  I actually just finished reading Donna Tartt’s The Little Friend.  There were a number of factors that contributed to the extended length of time it took for me to read Ms. Tartt’s second novel.  The holidays took up a lot of time and work got busier in the fall.  Also (gasp) I got sucked into a bunch of new television shows.  But here’s the thing, if you will remember back to my first post on the beginning of The Little Friend, I was immediately hooked on the novel.  I think that if the novel had continued to hold my attention the way it did at the beginning, none of those factors would have kept me from reading.

Have you ever heard the phrase ‘Super Bowl Hangover.” My boyfriend, being a big Giants fan, has been using the phrase a lot recently.  It means that the team that won the Super Bowl the previous year doesn’t even make the playoffs the next year.  I think that, essentially, Donna Tartt’s second novel experienced a bit of a “Super Bowl Hangover,” or should I say…. it wasn’t really that good.  Actually I hated it.  Whoa, harsh right? With how wonderfully it started, it started to drag soon after.  I kept up my reading with as much enthusiasm as possible but it got to the point where I really didn’t want to read it anymore.  However, I refused to give up on the book.  I loved The Secret History and I held out hope that eventually, the book would stop dragging and I’d fall in love with the book all over again.

Unfortunately, that never happened.  There were only a few factors that kept me reading.  The first was, I had already devoted hours of reading over 200 pages of the book.  Granted, the entire book was over 500 pages long so that didn’t really equal a huge sum of the story but regardless, I’d already invested a lot of time in the novel.  Second, there were a lot of stories that I wanted resolved.  I don’t want to spoil too much if you do decide to try and read this book (cough*don’t*cough) but basically, I didn’t get any of the resolutions that I wanted.  I finished the book and my exact stream of consciousness was “THAT’S IT! I SPENT MONTHS READING THIS BOOK AND THAT’S ALL I GET? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I FEEL LOST AND EMPTY AND ANGRY AND FRUSTRATED AND I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT’S IT.”

So yeah.  I hate to be so harsh.  Especially because I loved Donna Tartt’s first novel so much.  I don’t know, maybe I missed the bigger picture of the book?  Did I miss something? If you’ve read it, please let me know.  I wanted to love this book.  I really really did.  But I didn’t.

Wow, anyway. Sorry to start off the new year such a negative Nancy! Moving on as quickly as possible, I just started reading Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. So far, even though I was wary about starting another long novel, Gone Girl is flying by.  “Flying by” meaning that it shouldn’t take another 3 months for me to make another appearance here!

I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday season and I’m wishing all the best for a happy New Year!  Here’s to more reading and more blogging in 2013!

