Annnnnnnnnnd I’m back.  It has been a while since I’ve posted.  The reason behind this is a sad one: I haven’t been reading as much recently.  There is a bit of a story behind this, though.

A while back, a friend recommended the book Then We Came to the End.  She said it was something she was enjoying and it was pretty funny.  I read the description of the book and thought “this does look good” and picked it up.  Now here’s the thing, I actually enjoyed the book while I was reading it.  I could tell that it was well written, interesting, and completely relevant to today’s society.  The problem was that every time I put the book down, I had absolutely no desire to pick it back up again.  Sad, but true.  I felt no real connection to any part of the book; no real desire to find out what happened to anyone in the book.  Recently I wrote about giving up on a book halfway through because I wasn’t enjoying it.  Now, I feel like a bit of a failure because this time I didn’t give up because I wasn’t enjoying the book.  But, I did give up on the book last week due to a funny conversation I had with the same friend who recommended it.

Last week I mentioned to my friend that I was having a hard time getting through the book.  I could tell it was good and yet I found that I had no desire to pick it up.  I found that I was avoiding reading because I didn’t want to give up on a book that she had found so good.  I didn’t want to admit defeat.  It was at that moment that my friend told me she had absolutely no idea what book I was talking about.  In looking back at her e-reader, she realized that she had recommended the book to me while she was only about 25 pages in.  Then, she never finished it herself.  We both had a good laugh.

That night I downloaded Son by Lois Lowry. I finished it two days later.  Now, what’s the point of my story?  Not every book is for every person, no matter how great a book it may be.  Coming up next: Son by Lois Lowry!

