Tags

, , , , , ,

I have a confession to make.  If you had visited my blog recently, but before last night, you would have noticed that featured in my “Currently Reading” section was the book Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy.  Now, it lists that I’m reading Then We Came to the End.   So, if you read my last post, you’re probably assuming that Tess of the d’Urbervilles was one of the two books that I read while on vacation.  But you know what they say happens when you assume …

That’s right.  I gave up on Tess.  I found that I wasn’t looking forward to reading the book.  It became more of a chore to open my reader and struggle through a chapter.  I always looked forward to my nightly reading, but with this book, I found that I didn’t mind skipping it altogether.  Finally I reached the point where I decided to throw in the towel.

It’s not very often that I don’t make it through a book.  I’ll admit, the main reason I decided to read it was because of the main character’s obsession with this book in Fifty Shades of Grey.  Maybe you think that’s a silly reason to read a book but I was curious about a literarily classic that was referenced so much in not such a literary classic (I’d be more inclined to call Fifty Shades a “guilty pleasure classic” as opposed to literary).  The funny thing is that I could totally see why this was Anna’s favorite book, at least from what I managed to get through.  I think that Anna was able to relate to Tess and I saw similarities between the characters.  Maybe this is a premature evaluation considering I don’t know the outcome of Tess of the d’Urbervilles but that’s something I can live with.

Perhaps I should have known better than trying to read this book.  I read Ethan Frome in high school, the only other book I’ve read by Hardy, and well, I hated it.  To be honest, I think it was my least favorite book read in high school.  Apparently, Mr. Hardy’s writing is not something I particularly enjoy.

I really do try and give every book a fair shot.  I’ve pushed through some books that I didn’t find all that enjoyable, but for some reason I just didn’t really care much at all what happened to Tess.  Have there been books that you’ve given up on?  Should I give Tess of the d’Urbervilles a second shot?  Does it get drastically more interesting after the first hundred or so pages and I’m missing out on something amazing?  Please, let me know!

