Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

And finally, I’m back with more Song of Ice and Fire with the second book of the series, A Clash of Kings. I started A Clash of Kings on May 13th and finished a little more than two weeks later on May 29th.  The book is 784 pages.   Like I’ve said before in my previous posts revolving around A Song of Ice and Fire, I’m afraid there may be some spoilers.  If you haven’t read the second book (or seen the second season of HBO’s A Game of Thrones as I’ve been told it goes through the second book) then you may want to stop reading here.

 A Clash of Kings contains all of the first person narratives from A Game of Thrones (minus Ned Stark, may he rest in peace), and includes two new narratives: Theon Greyjoy and Davos Seaworth.  I’m not going to lie; at first I really wasn’t feeling these new additions.  I felt like I was already waiting so long for a good Daenerys chapter to come my way when instead I’d be met with Theon Greyjoy, who in the grand scheme of things is a pretty big asshole.  And while I didn’t mind Davos Seaworth, I found myself forgetting who he was every time I came to one of his chapters.  Eventually, he’d be referred to as “the Onion Knight” once again and it would all come back to me.  “Oh yes, Davos, the Onion Knight: loyal subject of King Stannis.”

A few random thoughts on A Clash of Kings:

Religion: It was in this book that I really started thinking more about George R. R. Martin’s creation of different religions.  Yes, in A Game of Thrones religion is touched on, but with the introduction of Davos Seaworth’s narration and with it, the character of Melisandre of Asshai, a red priestess of R’hllor, religion becomes a more central theme.  King Stannis relies completely on the religion of the red priestess when it comes to making decisions towards claiming the iron throne.

Fantasy: This may sound silly, but sometimes I’m completely thrown off by the “fantasy” in Martin’s fantasy series.  Now let me explain.  Obviously I know it’s a fantasy series; there are dragons and mythical creatures that are present and for the most part they don’t surprise me.  However, with the appearance of things that seem to be magical, it’s almost like I’m slapped in the face with the concept that this is a series taking place in a fantasy world.  The interesting thing is Martin ties a lot of magical happenings with his different religions.  Melisandre is able to birth her creepy shadow baby of death by using her god R’hllor.  And although this isn’t revealed until later, the mysterious man, Jaqen H’ghar, who offs men of Arya’s choosing, is part of yet another religion revealed later in the series.

If cell phones existed in this series, things would be a lot less complicated:  I know this is a ridiculous thought, but I had it quite frequently throughout my reading.  All of the Starks, for the most part, think a majority of their siblings/children are dead.  I want so badly for them to know that they’re all still alive except for Ned!  Can you imagine if Arya could just call her mom and be all “Hi Mom!  This is crazy, I’m heading to Winterfell, meet me maybe?”  (Sorry I’m not sorry for the shameless Call Me Maybe play).

I really enjoyed part two of A Song of Ice and Fire.  It wasn’t my favorite of the series, but in no way should that be taken negatively as I think they’re all pretty awesome.  Coming up next, A Storm of Swords!

