Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Confession: My brain isn’t really up for much of anything right now.  I attended my first ever Yankees vs Red Sox game last night at Yankee Stadium  and due to lack of sleep that means, you guessed it, you’ll be waiting at least one more day for more Song of Ice and Fire blog posts.  Instead of more George R. R. Martin mania, I thought I’d share a little bit about my weekend as it involved more than sitting on the couch catching up on Comedy Central’s Workaholics (although to be honest I think that’s a wonderful way to spend the weekend, too).

Blake Griffin couldn’t agree more about Workaholics (from Mr. Griffin’s official twitter)

My boyfriend’s birthday was earlier this month and seeing as how he always says he’d much rather have an experience as a gift than any physical item, I did some investigating on something fun to do.  I ended up reserving two nights at The Hopkins Inn on beautiful Lake Waramaug in Connecticut.

Such a big, comfy bed.

I’ll admit, I was a bit nervous that the weekend wouldn’t turn out as nice as I had hoped.  It’s always a gamble when you’re booking something blindly online.  Fortunately, my fears were completely unfounded and we had an absolutely wonderful time!  The inn itself was very pretty, the rooms were modest but all I really cared about was a place to sleep and with comfy bed and we lucked out! And talk about a view: we could see the beautiful lake right from our windows.

As far as activities go in the area, unfortunately we were a bit limited due to the weather.  I had grand ideas of hiking, canoeing, kayaking and swimming.  We were lucky to get in a delicious breakfast on Saturday on the inn’s terrace and a great hike up the Kent State Falls.

The beautiful Kent State Falls

During the hike it slowly started drizzling until it was pouring to the point where we were soaked.  We decided a little rain never hurt anyone though and continued our outdoor adventure exploring the few trails that lead up the falls.  Following our excursion in the morning, though, we decided that in the stormy conditions, nothing said “Darwin award” (google it) more than canoeing during a thunderstorm and so, we called it a day for any other nature activities.

Instead, as luck (and some planning) would have it, The Hopkins Inn is located directly adjacent to The Hopkins Vineyard.  Following a wine tasting, the two of us spent the rest of the afternoon watching the storm roll in over the lake while enjoying a bottle of the vineyard’s peach wine.

Napkins used at the winery. I bet we both looked pretty sexy to each other after a couple hours there.

Two delicious wines from the Hopkins Vineyard

After picking up a few extra bottles at the winery, we headed back to the Inn (a good 20 steps away) and had one of the best dinners I’ve had out in a while.  We split Caribbean crab cakes (a bit spicy with a great citrus/lime flavor) followed by two spectacular main courses: seafood saute (with scallops, shrimp, swordfish and salmon) in a butter herb sauce for me and veal piccata for my boyfriend.  After a dessert of crepes with ice cream and hot fudge and cheesecake with strawberry sauce, I wasn’t sure either of us would be able to move.  Then came the best part: after that amazing dinner, all that was required of us was walking another 25 steps (allow me to guesstimate here) up the stairs back to our (did I already say comfy, because it really was) comfy bed.

All in all, it was a wonderfully relaxing weekend.  I’m a huge believer in mini weekend getaways and this great trip only reinforced that idea! If you live somewhere in the surrounding area of the Hopkins Inn, I’d recommend a quick escape there for some good food, good wine, and time spent outdoors!

Have you taken any recent short trips?  Any in the greater New York City area?  The Hopkins Inn was only about two hours away from the city and I’m always looking for more short distance excursions!

