Tags

, , , , ,

Snow White and the Huntsman: A Movie Review

This weekend, I went to see Snow White and the Huntsman, so I thought I’d take some time to write about it while it’s fresh in my mind.  I have to admit that I’ve always been a fan of the darker side of fairytales so I was intrigued by this movie ever since I saw the first trailers.  Did it meet my expectations from the trailer? I would say yes, for the most part.  It was entertaining and very appealing visually.

I have a few things that I liked in particular and they were:

Charlize Theron: What’s great about Charlize Theron is how I’m always reminded that she’s MORE than just this pretty face; she plays the part of the evil queen wonderfully.  She was wicked, and I loved it.

Kristen Stewart: What a pleasant surprise! What bothered me the most when I first saw the trailers was their casting of Kristen Stewart as Snow White.  Bluntly put, she’s not my favorite actress.  And that’s probably completely unfair of me to say because, to be honest, I haven’t seen her in a lot of movies (much like I haven’t read the Twilight series, I have not seen the movies either), but there’s just something about her that kind of irks me.  I just find that she’s always awkward at public appearances and never seems very happy.  C’mon K-stew, you’re a MOVIE STAR, look happy about it!  With that being said, I would now like to comment on how much I actually didn’t hate her in this movie! She was likeable, pretty, and any moments where I felt she came across slightly awkward (there were a couple), I don’t think were necessarily her fault but instead, the writing itself was to blame.

Visual effects: The visual effects were great throughout the course of the film. Looking back, they were what really stood out in my mind.

And now, for my main dislike:

The ending: One of my pet peeves is when a film leaves an ending slightly ambiguous just for the sake of leaving it open to a sequel.  I don’t mind when a viewer is left to draw their own conclusions about what something means or what might happen next.  The ending of Snow White and the Huntsman, however, felt like they left it with an ending that was just fine if they never made a second one, but also open for part two if it did well in the box office.  Maybe this wasn’t their original intention, they probably always planned on making a second one, but, low and behold, when I went online Monday morning and was looking at the box office results for the weekend, the sequel was already being discussed.

So go ahead and check it out for yourself if you haven’t already.  I enjoyed it as a whole and it’s worth seeing on the big screen especially for the great visual effects.

